Another popular holiday hotspot could ban Brits by this Friday

AUSTRIA could be the latest country to ban Brits due to a surge in Omicron cases.

Austrian authorities are considering adding the UK to its travel ban list from Friday – Christmas Eve – as the UK could be registered as a "virus variant area".

People from Norway, Denmark and the Netherlands could also be banned, according to Austrian newspaper Kronen Zeitung.

Under the rules, only Austrian or EU citizens who are residents in Austria would be permitted to enter if they are travelling from Britain.

All other Brits would be forced to enter a 10-day quarantine – effectively ruling out tourist visits.

Currently, Brits can enter Austria if they show they are vaccinated or have recovered from Covid. They must also provide evidence of a negative test or a booster jab.

A decision has not yet been made on whether Austria will ban Brits.

A confirmation from the Austrian Ministry of Health is pending.

Most read in News Travel


EasyJet launches summer 2022 sale with new routes from £15pp


Woman left stunned after finding her Airbnb is inside a restaurant


Inside the new long-haul budget airline that bans kids in part of the plane


Spanish holidays could be saved with new travel corridor

If a ban is decided upon, it will be a major blow for Brits planning on going skiing, following a similar decision made by France.

France banned all non-essential travel to and from Britain last weekend to try to slow the spread of the Omicron variant.

Germany has also banned Brits from visiting, with all arrivals needsing a negative PCR test and to quarantine for 14 days.

Holidays to Spain have also suffered, as thousands of Brits cancel their trips over Christmas due to Covid travel restrictions.

Here is a full list of countries Brits are banned from entering due to Covid travel rules.

We've rounded up the entry requirements and rules for Brit-favourite holiday spots.

    Source: Read Full Article