Where are the Unesco World Heritage sites in the UK? Full list of locations from Stonehenge to Canterbury Cathedral – The Sun

UNESCO is best known to most people for its World Heritage program to protect cultural sites and traditions around the world.

But how many does the UK have? Here's all you need to know.

What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) World Heritage Sites are places of cultural or natural heritage and importance.

There are 1,052 of these worldwide, including India's Taj Mahal and Peru's Machu Picchu.

We have 31 World Heritage Sites here in the UK – spanning across England, Wales, Northern Ireland, Bermuda, Gibraltar, the Pitcairn Islands and Saint Helena.

Which are the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the UK?

Tourist attractions including Stonehenge, Canterbury Cathedral and Hadrian's Wall are all UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

As it the Jurassic Coast, the infamous Dorset and East Devon filming location for the highly-acclaimed Broadchurch TV series.

When it comes to capital cities, Edinburgh's old and new towns have been recognised – as have London landmarks including Westminster Abbey, Kew Gardens and the Tower of London.

Lake District

Canterbury Cathedral

Tower of London

City of Bath

Durham Castle and Cathedral

Jurassic Coast

Old and New Towns of Edinburgh

Palace of Westminster and Westminster Abbey

Hadrian’s Wall

Blenheim Palace

Kew Gardens


Heart of Neolithic Orkney

The UK’s World Heritage Sites

This is the complete list, and the date when each landmark was officially recognised…

  1. Blaenavon Industrial Landscape (2000)
  2. Blenheim Palace (1987)
  3. Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey at St Martin's Church (1988)
  4. Castles and Town Walls of King Edward in Gwynedd (1986)
  5. City of Bath (1987)
  6. Cornwall and West Devon Mining Landscape (2006)
  7. Derwent Valley Mills (2001)
  8. Dorset and East Devon Coast – Jurassic Coast (2001)
  9. Durham Castle and Cathedral (1986)
  10. Frontiers of the Roman Empire (1987)
  11. Giant's Causeway and Causeway Coast (2001)
  12. Gorham's Cave Complex (2016)
  13. Gough and Inaccessible Islands (1995)
  14. Heart of Neolithic Orkney (1999)
  15. Henderson Island (1988)
  16. Historic Town of St George and Related Fortifications, Bermuda (2000)
  17. Ironbridge Gorge (1986)
  18. Maritime Greenwich (1997)
  19. New Lanark (2001)
  20. Old and New Towns of Edinburgh (1995)
  21. Palace of Westminster and Westminster Abbey, including St Margaret's Church (1987)
  22. Pontcysyllte Aqueduct and Canal (2009)
  23. Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (2003)
  24. Saltaire (2001)
  25. St Kilda (1986)
  26. Stonehenge, Avebury and Associated Sites (1986)
  27. Studley Royal Park including the Ruins of Fountains Abbey (1986)
  28. The English Lake District (2017)
  29. The Forth Bridge (2015)
  30. Tower of London (1988)

    Source: Read Full Article